DMA Showcase Bumper Project

Project Information

Name of Project: DMA Showcase Bumper Project

Class: Motion Graphics

Due Date: 4/19/2021

Date Posted: 4/18/2021

Program: Adobe After Effects, Adobe Premiere

Project Description: Following the DMA Opening Title Sequence, we needed to make bumpers to introduce each student in the opening title’s animation projects during the show. We could match the bumpers to our Opening Title, or try something new but in the same style. We also needed to create a bumper with placeholder text for non-seniors, and add music that matched our Opening Title. The bumpers needed to be about five seconds long and we needed to incorporate the “Scooter Guy” logo.

Bumper Visuals

For the visuals for my bumpers, I decided to take each name composition I had and repurposed the assets to create a new composition. I repurposed the “featuring seniors” composition from the opening title to make the non-seniors bumper as well. I also extended or shortened the composition depending on the name to fit the five second length.

Bumper Project First Iteration

I used Adobe Premiere to cut different pieces of audio from the song used in the Opening Title and matched it up to the visuals I thought they fit best. I then imported the audio into Adobe After Effects and exported the entire piece from there.

Bumper Project Final Product

Following the first iteration critique, the main issue with the bumpers was the music being chopped up and placed in different areas. I was advised to use similar to the same audio without any lyrics. I had to use the same audio for each bumper because there was only one period of five seconds were there is solely instrumental. It was also found out that two names were left out of the senior list for the DMA-2-GO Senior Showcase, so I created two more bumpers to match the new compositions presented in the updated DMA-2-GO Opening Title Sequence.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started