Final Demo Reel

Project Information

Name of Project: Final Demo Reel

Class: Advanced Motion Graphics

Due Date: 12/5/2021

Date Posted: 11/21/2021

Date Updated: 12/5/2021

Program: Cinema 4D, Adobe Premiere, Adobe Illustrator

Project Description: After completing several projects over the course of the semester, we were tasked with either creating a demo reel with previous and new projects, or to create a new animation entirely. Regardless, the demo reel needs to be about a minute long and requires sound.

Previous Work

The following videos were previous assignments completed in class that I intend to use in my final demo reel.

3D Text Animation Project

The premise of this assignment was to create a 3d text animation using Cinema 4D. The video needs to be at least 10 seconds long and the concept of the video was up to the individual student. We were required to incorporate camera animation and play with light animation and materials found in the program. Sound was then added in Adobe Premiere.

3D Fracture Logo

This assignment was made using an in-class lesson on a fracture mechanic found in Cinema 4D. We were required to replicate the technique using our own logo. I used the wordmark I created for my Professional Practices class.

3D Abstract Shape

This short assignment was made in-class following a lecture to create an abstract shape using the manipulation of objects found in Cinema 4D.

3D Exploding Wordmark

This short assignment was made in-class following a lecture to create an object that uses an exploding effect while forming. We were tasked with replacing the object used in class with our own logo. I used the wordmark I had created in Professional practices.

3D Moving Tiles

This piece was another short assignment made in-class as an experiment with field tools and metal-like materials.

3D Logo Animation

After creating static logos in Adobe Illustrator, we were to take one and turn it into a 3D logo object. The 3D logo was to be animated using different effects we learned in class and needed to be at least ten seconds long. I decided to use a sound effector learned in class and made the surrounding objects bounce to the beat of the song I had chosen, which centered around my 3D Logo. Sound was added in Adobe Premiere. The project needed to be at least 10 seconds long. We were required to incorporate camera animation and play with light animation and materials found in the program.

3D Letter Animation

For this assignment, we were tasked with creating a letter animation using effects learned in class. I decided to create a letterform out of different objects, and animated them in different ways to create the effect shown above. The project needed to be five seconds long. We were required to incorporate camera animation and play with light animation and materials found in the program.

Rigid Body Animation

For this assignment, we were tasked with using rigid body tags learned in class to create an animation of at least ten seconds. I decided to place with the force of rigid objects, having a set of small balls force through and break a wall. The balls then bounce and fall down the stairs. Sound was added in Adobe Premiere.

Soft Body Project

For this assignment, we were tasked with using soft body tags learned in class to create an animation of at least ten seconds. I decided to make a breakfast display, using both soft body tags (for the pancakes and the butter) and rigid body tags (for the silverware) for the piece to show how different objects react to falling onto a surface. I also used a few deformers learned in class, including the melt deformer used on the butter and the jiggle deformer used on the coffee to add a bit more dynamic work to the piece. I also played with different textures and how they project onto surfaces. Sound was added in Adobe Premiere.

New Work

The following videos were pieces made for the demo reel that were placed in between the previous work pieces.

3D Solar System

This short piece was an experiment in Cinema 4D to see if I could reflect the rotation of our solar system. It is not 100% accurate, obviously, but it was fun to play around with and visualize how real planets would move in a space like this.

2D to 3D Illustration

This illustration was based off of a very early in class assignment where we took a flat 2D illustration and put it in a 3D space using tools such as the extrude tool. I wanted to revisit this concept but use the knowledge I know now to create a new piece and animate as much of it as possible. I wanted to keep a semi-flat look to the piece, which is why there is no camera movement and the camera angle is head-on to the piece.

3D Abstract Cloner Illustration

The final piece shown in this video was another short piece that came out of me experimenting with the program. I decided to play with the cloner tool as well as rigid/collider body tools and the Voronoi Fracture tool to create the piece above. This piece was very fun to make, but took very long to render.

Final Demo Reel

After picking out previous work and creating/rendering new work, I structured the pieces together to create this demo reel that shows partial or full clips of the pieces above. I added music that I thought best suit the piece (song is I Feel ya, Ophelia by The Polish Ambassadors) and timed the transition of the pieces to the music. Overall I am really proud of the pieces I made this semester, and I am glad to get the opportunity to create a piece showcasing all of them!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started