Project 2: Resume & Letterhead

Project Information

Name of Project: Project 2: Resume & Letterhead

Class: Professional Practices

Due Date: 10/18/2021

Date Posted: 10/18/2021

Program: Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop

Project Description: Following Project 1, we were tasked with continuing our personal branding campaign with resumes and letterheads. They each had to follow style guidelines outlined by our business cards and envelopes, including our typefaces, word-marks, and color palette. The resume needed to be filled out with our own information, but the letterhead could be filled with filler text.

Previous Resume & Letterhead

I began this project by looking at my most recent resume and letterhead, which were completed for Tech Writing 2 in the Fall of 2020. I decided to use most of the information used in the resume, and thought extensively how to update this resume to reflect my branding and overall design abilities.

Resume & Letterhead Rough Drafts

I reformatted my previous resume and letterhead to match the personal branding I had outlined in my business cards and envelopes. I decided to use a two-column format for my resume, as the previous felt too plain.

I replaced most of the text used in my previous letterhead with filler text, as the previous letter was filled out for a specific assignment. I also added my own signature, which was scanned and image traced into Adobe Illustrator.

In addition to my letterhead, I decided to make a backing so that the page would not be plain when turned over. When folded into thirds, I wanted the word-mark to be able to show prominently.

Resume & Letterhead Final Product

Following the rough draft critique, I wrote down the following notes to move forward with:

Resume

  • really wordy
  • have dates aligned to baseline instead of centered
  • remove ‘has exposure’

Letterhead

  • maybe mess with alignment maybe, nitpicks at this point

Overall Notes

  • tertiary body text that isn’t all caps needs to be implemented

The biggest change to the project was the implementation of a tertiary typeface for areas of large text. I was able to find and decided to use the lowercase version of my secondary text, Domus, and implemented it in areas most affected. I readjusted the alignment to fit this new typeface. Finally, I proof-read my resume and bolded several important words, as it felt as though it needed some emphasis on the page.

I did not have many critiques for the letterhead, but I did change the body text to my tertiary typeface and made small adjustments to the alignment.

No changes were made to the backing for the letterhead.

Resume & Letterhead Mockups

I decided to showcase what my designs would look like once printed out. I made these mockups using free templates in Adobe Photoshop. I combined both projects 1 and 2 for the last three mockups to show how the branding has translated.

Style Guide Covers

For the final PDF, I decided to make style guide covers as I had for the previous project. I followed the same format to keep it cohesive.

Final Deliverable

I combined all of my documentation for project 2 (minus the previous resume and letterhead) into a PDF and reordered it so each stage would be properly separated. I am very happy with how the final designs turned out and how my personal brand has been explored further.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started