Adobe MAX Write Up

Assignment Information

Name of Assignment: Adobe MAX Write Up

Class: Illustration

Due Date: 10/22/2020

Date Posted: 10/22/2020

Assignment Description: We were tasked with watching three or more Adobe MAX sessions, and answering questions related to the specific artists’ processes and what we learned from them. We also needed to take screenshots of the session as proof we watched/participated.

**For the first two sessions, I had to watch past streams because my wifi was very splotchy. I originally wanted to watch more live streams, but the instability of my wifi was prohibiting me from doing so. Fortunately, I was able to watch the third session live before my wifi cut out.**

Session 1: Creative Luminary: Andrea Pippens

What did you learn in the session you attended? The main takeaway I gathered from Pippens’ is to experiment with the different creative practices available to you to find your niche. That experimentation will forge a path gathered from your passion that has the ability to empower those who interact with it. Additionally, the power of form and message are vital to illustration, especially in books, because they can teach, nurture, and empower audiences reached.

Did you become acquainted with an artist, designer, illustrator that you had not known about before? How might their work or works inspire you? I had not heard of Pippens before this broadcast, but the way she uses expression of art to empower herself and others around her opened my eyes to new possibilities. Her view of graphic design and the visual experience of a brand ties in the power of illustration and narrative in a way that is very intriguing. As someone who has wondered how to connect my interest in rigid design with more narrative entities, Pippens’ work showed me that is it possible to be successful in that experimentation and to experiment with the two more.

Have you learned something about tools and/or processes that was new and/or inspiring? One process I found particularly inspiring was her ability to reflect and acknowledge her work. Before she starts any of her pieces, she challenges herself to think about how she wants to use her voice throughout that piece and what she wants viewers to know. She makes sure to write down her intentions before starting her piece and holds herself accountable throughout the creation process.

How might your creative practice change as a result of what you heard during the session? Before I make any decisions creatively, whether I am thinking about starting a new art piece or applying for/leaving a job, I want to follow Pippens’ advice and thoroughly make sure my intentions are solid and align with my long-term career, art, and life goals.

Session 2: Creative Luminary: Charlie Davis

What did you learn in the session you attended? There are many different methods of painting that go beyond the scope of traditional art. Art does not have to be reactionary but can reflect personal and global experiences and influences and can be relatable in various ways.  

Did you become acquainted with an artist, designer, illustrator that you had not known about before? How might their work or works inspire you? I had not heard of Charlie Davis before, but the color palettes of his pieces were particularly striking to me. His images have this way of absorbing you, almost as if you could put yourself within the piece, whether physically or metaphorically.

Have you learned something about tools and/or processes that was new and/or inspiring? Davis in his work uses dramatic light to capture form. Leaving out features in the characters portrayed in an illustration can leave the viewer to immerse themselves in the art and insert themselves in the experience fully. The scenes of his work are almost romanticized in a way that is similar to how nostalgia idealizes memories, and they all have this dream-like quality that feels personal to the viewer.

How might your creative practice change as a result of what you heard during the session? I really want to try out his style of fluid, simple forms that limit color to the way light reflects. He is able to capture the essence of a person or object so vividly without engorging in detail, and I want to experiment with that ‘less is more’ mentality in my future work.  

Session 3: How Illustrator Is at the Heart of Every DKNG Project

What did you learn in the session you attended? You can make color groups directly in Illustrator that can be adjusted artboard-wide, so multiple items can be changed simultaneously. Vector shapes are usually used for geometrical work but can achieve realism when combined with Photoshop textures or opacity masks. The versatility of freeform gradients can drastically manipulate and add detail to your work. Lastly, simple patterning and 3D Shape tools can create powerful and incredibly detailed isometric pieces of work.

Did you become acquainted with an artist, designer, illustrator that you had not known about before? How might their work or works inspire you? I had never heard of Dan Kuhlken and Nathan Goldman before, but their work was truly inspiring to see. They combined geometry with realism using several different tools to customize and manipulate different pieces in ways I never knew were possible.

Have you learned something about tools and/or processes that was new and/or inspiring? I have used Illustrator in the past, but I have never truly experimented with the flexibility of layers and global colors. I also had never heard of opacity masks, freeform gradients, and patterning tools, but the way they can drastically change your work with even minute details in simple ways was amazing to see live.

How might your creative practice change as a result of what you heard during the session? While I was amazed by many of the tools shown during the session, I have always been interested in isometric design but never knew how to construct a piece without various limitations. I definitely want to use the patterning and 3D shape tools to make more custom grids and shapes that tailor to complex pieces.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started